It is well-established that every driver in Florida is required to carry insurance for his or her vehicle. Car accidents happen every day on Florida roads and it is important for drivers to recover the damages they suffer as a result. These damages can range from minor cosmetic damage to the vehicle and no injuries to totaled vehicles and severe injuries. To help ensure prompt resolution of accident claims, Florida has adopted what is referred to as no-fault insurance.
Basically, no-fault insurance means that if a person is involved in an accident, he or she will collect compensation from his or her own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault for the accident. Each driver is required to have personal injury protection as a part of his or her insurance, with a minimum value of $10,000. If the person is injured as a result of the accident, he or she will be reimbursed for 80% of all reasonable medical expenses.
These medical expenses will be reimbursed only if the person seeks initial medical care within 14 days of the accident. The initial services must be rendered by a licensed physician, dentist, chiropractor or emergency professional who transports the person to the hospital. The services also must be performed in a hospital or entity wholly owned by the hospital. The reimbursement will also include follow-up care if the person is referred to medical professionals for follow-up care.
Overall, eligible medical expenses may include surgeries, X-rays, dental, rehabilitative care, nursing care, ambulance costs and other medical costs associated with the person's treatment.
Unfortunately, many people are injured in car accidents every year in Florida. The medical expenses can add up quickly, but if the person is insured, their insurance company must reimburse him or her for all eligible costs. Experienced car accident attorneys understand these laws and may be able to guide one through the process.
Source: Florida State Legislature, 2014 Florida Statutes, "Florida Statute 627.736" accessed on May 19, 2015